Draining and re-filling a Phoenix area pool

pwcfan

Apr 24, 2017
Scottsdale/Az
I have been reviewing old threads related to this topic.
I'm new to the Phoenix area. My home has a 20,000gal Pebbletec/DE pool.
It has not been drained for over 7 years.
CYA is off the chart obviously. Using A LOT of liquid chlorine.
I cannot fine the sewer drain in front of my 1977 built home. Previous homeowners have buried it with desert landscape.
I did see some post about side hose/bathroom clear out drain. I ran a test with my garden hose, and no back ups, anywhere in the house. I stuft the hose into the hole, at full pressure, whatever that is, for prox 10 mins.
I was contemplating purchasing a sub pump, so I can drain every 2-3 years, instead of renting.
Any idea what kind of flow (gallons per hour) I can use using the bathroom clear out option ?
City of Phoenix website says it is illegal to drain to street......I am not HOA, but I do have nosey neighbors....
Any advise would help.
Tx Group !!!

PWCFAN, hi there :) Welcome to TFP!

My first thought is to ask you what type of filter do you have?? If it is a sand filter that allows you to backwash...where is that water going? It may be plumbed into a drain already if you don't know where it goes.

I use a small sump pump to drain my hot tub into my clean out point as its directly under a panel on my deck. Works great, but a pool is so much bigger and is going to take a lot longer using a smaller sump pump. You can rent larger pumps from HomeDepot for bigger jobs like this rather than a smaller sump pump. It would be worth it, IMO.

Have you considered doing multiple smaller drains and refills, using the water in your yard? Or is that unheard of out there in the hot desert?

One thing to be aware of in your hot area is that cooler months are the time to do this so that you can do it fast and refill fast, not letting the plaster get baked by the hot sun.

Maddie :flower:

thank you sir.

I do have a DE filter.