Diving board, slide, volleyball, shelf. Is it possible without a gigantic pool?

Jun 30, 2018
St. George/UT
Hi! I'm brand new to Trouble Free Pools and I'm excited to get my feet wet! We are in the process of getting quotes and are also looking into owner building.

There are many elements I would love to have in the pool but am not sure it's all possible while staying in budget and not turning this into a monster-sized pool. I'd love to see pictures and hear about the details of your pool if you have all or nearly all of the elements I am hoping for.

I would like a spa, tanning shelf (or shamu shelf...are these the same thing?), diving board, some kind of water feature, slide, and enough room in the shallow end to be able to play volleyball. And if possible, all of this in a free-form pool but I'm willing to budge on that if I have to. :)

My husband is worried about the diving board and safety so I want to make sure we take all precautions necessary, of course. To have enough room for a tanning shelf and volleyball AND a safe deep end for the diving board,we get ourselves into a pretty long pool. Would 40' long do the trick? Will we need a steep slope from shallow to deep therefore creating a hazard for diving? Could we possibly configure the volleyball net on an angle to better accomplish this? Any thoughts and/or ideas you might have would be greatly appreciated! And, please show me pictures of how you accomplished a pool similar to this! Thank you

Shannon, welcome to TFP :handwave:

I'd say an L shape or T shape pool could do all you want. The short side of the L could contain the "shamu" (lol!) ledge and shallow area for volleyball, while the long end starts with a basket ball hoop and works down into a diving well at the end. The diving well could also be the outlet for a slide.

I'd lose the water feature myself if you want to trim costs. I personally think they're overdone and of limited value.