Bronze Supporter
Jul 23, 2021
Mchenry, illinois
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi everyone, so this is my first year with a pool; Got through my first shock and now I am just testing daily and keeping my free chlorine at eight as a goal. Do I have to use the chlorine drop test or can I use the the little box test that you use for PH?
Thanks 😊

You can use both actually. But being new to testing, I would recommend using the drop test (FAS-DPD) so that you know what exact FC numbers look like, then do the OTO comparator block test so you can see what shade the FC looks like at that FC number. Sort of training yourself to use the OTO. Once you get good at it, you can use the FAS-DPD one day, then skip a day or two and use the OTO viewer to save on powder & drops.

Reactions: Jennybird
I use the OTO test and PH test daily. I try to keep the CL in the top band (5-10). When it drops to the next band (3-6), I assume it's 4.5 and use Poolmath to bring it up to my target (which is 7 with a CYA of 40). I do the other tests once per week. I find the OTO usually over-estimates the CL compared to the FAS-DPD, even though I never have CC.

Reactions: Jennybird and KJB1
Hey miss !! You have great advice above, covering you well. So with your permission, and you accepting my apologies in advance, I’d like to stray a hair off topic for a sec.

How’s it been going ? Much easier to do a little proactive and barely need to anything reactive (like fight a swamp), right ? Are you at one with the pool yet ? Can just see the sparkle and know you’re good….. then test anyway and confirm it ?

Hey miss !! You have great advice above, covering you well. So with your permission, and you accepting my apologies in advance, I’d like to stray a hair off topic for a sec.