CYA won't rise?

Skybluepink02

May 22, 2022
Atlanta, Ga
Hi all,

I'm new to pool care and SLAMing. We've always had a pool service, but our guy retired and costs are high, and here we are. I found SLAM about halfway through opening my pool, so I know I'm going around this backwards. But I'm trying to fix it now.

First things first,
TC - 5
FC - 15
PH - 7.1
Alk - 150
CYA - 0
Hardness - 150

Pool is about 15,000 gallons and we have a sand filter.

That CYA number is the one that I can't figure out. I've added a whole 5 pounds of stabilizer, in the skimmer with a skimmer sock to contain it. It's dissolved. The number is still 0. I'm worried about adding more because I'm worried that I'll somehow add too much and it'll be a whole other problem.

Am I adding it wrong? Should I be doing something else? Keep adding?

Thanks, and please be kind to a newbie! :)

By adding it to the skimmer, while in a sock, it still needs to go through the pump through the sand filter then back to the pool. The sand filter will slowly release it to the pool via the returns. Do not backwash for at least a few days. Check the CYA level again in a few days.

Welcome to TFP! :wave: 5 lbs should take the CYA up to about 40. Are you comfortable with the CYA test? Sure you are reading when the dot disappears properly?
Not even a little confident. :) I'm still figuring this out and feel a bit lost.

I've been double-checking myself with a strip test, which also reads zero, so I'm inclined to think it's accurate, but I'm willing to be wrong if you have insight!

By adding it to the skimmer, while in a sock, it still needs to go through the pump through the sand filter then back to the pool. The sand filter will slowly release it to the pool via the returns. Do not backwash for at least a few days. Check the CYA level again in a few days.
Oh, that might be the problem. I've been vacuuming a lot and so, backwashing a lot too.