Complete Newbie

May 1, 2017
Middleville
I recently purchased my house that came with a pool. I sadly did not any information on the pool and i have never owned one. I have done a bit of research but so many things seem to be contradictory that it is hard to get everything straight.

for the last 2 weeks i have been going to a local pool supply store hoping they could help me get things going the right way. I have now sunk over 200 dollars just trying to get my pool opened and clear to no avail. I am not sure if this is expensive as far as a pool opening goes or not but as I don't have a ton of disposable income to waste. I would rather get it right.

They seem to have helped me balance the chemicals and the water is a more pleasing blue color but my water is very cloudy. I can barely make out anything only about a foot under the water.

My water started off the spring very green and full of leaves. I feel like I have vacuumed out most of the debris but it is hard to tell with out even being able to see if i am mixing it up. Another issue that concerns me is that it feels like i never "have" to backwash. the pressure gauge on my filter never goes up and the water seems to be coming out at a really good pace even after many hours of running. I still backwash it at regular intervals but there isn't much that seems to come out of the drain but cloudy water. I have tried using a clarifier but that made no difference at all.

Here are the only tests I can run at the moment.

Total Chlorine: 5ppm
Free Chlorine: 5ppm
Total Alkalinity: 120ppm
pH: 7
Total Hardness: 250ppm

If there is anymore information that anyone can give me it would be really helpful. I don't have a ton of time for research with work and kids so thanks for any help you can provide.

Hiya Tom :) welcome and congrats on the new house/pool. We can help, and save you beaucoup bucks in the process too I hope!