Cheap ideas to warm a big, shaded pool?

Apr 19, 2016
Tyler
Hello, I am new to TFP and new to pool ownership. My husband and I are both teachers and we bit off a little more than we could chew with this house that we bought a year ago. The pool is a 18x40' in-ground, 9' deep end so we estimate about 30,000 gallons. He's just about mastered the chemistry I think (yes, it's taken a year) and has a fairly good cleaning routine.

Here's the problem, it has COOOOLD water pretty much year round. Even if it's 100 degrees outside (we live in East Texas) last summer I hardly got in the pool because of how cold it was. Our three boys just get goose flesh and swim anyway. I, however have a bone degenerative arthritis and the cold is more than just uncomfortable, it can be distractingly painful. Unfortunately, a big reason we bought a house with a pool is because it would be great exercise for someone with bad joints (okay, wearing out the kids is another big reason!). I told myself I'd be less a baby this summer and would just work through the pain and shivers because it's not like it will kill me and I'm in pain much of the time anyway. Still, I'd like to find a way to warm it even a few degrees. (On a side note, if you've ever heard of a heated wetsuit, I'm open to buying one of those!)

The big problem is, we don't get a lot of direct sunlight. There are many tall Post Oak trees in the backyard and it would be pretty expensive to have even one cut down. He estimates that we get around 2-3 hours of direct sun in the summer. The shade can be great, for instance, we never used sunscreen which is great because I've also had melanoma cancer twice.