Broken pump motor, replace or upgrade suggestions?

Jul 21, 2018
Tucson
So I have a Whisperflo 1 HP pump and the motor finally gave out after more than 10 years of service running 6-8 hours a day. I need to either replace the motor or replace the entire pump and I wonder if someone could advise me. I'm an electronic and software engineer, and know almost nothing about pool hydrodynamics.

With all this variable speed motor hype (and laws) I'm concerned that my particular pool setup would not benefit at all from a variable speed motor that might have to always be running at max speed anyway (i.e. functioning as a single speed motor). And therefore the higher cost of a variable speed motor and pump *might* be a supreme waste of money or at least provide so little benefit that it is not financially sound (i.e. cost $1,000 more but saves only $50 a year). I have a limited time (until July 18 IIRC) in order to be able to buy single speed motors and/or pumps before federal law forbids it.

My setup below has run perfectly fine for over 10 years.

Equipment:
- Approx 14,000 gallon oval shaped pool with attached spa and Pebble Tec (not polished) surface
- Whisperflo WFE-4 (1 HP 3450 RPM)
- Pentair Sta-Rite System:3, model S7M120, Modular cartridge
- 2" inlet & outlet
- Max pressure 50psi
- Flow rate 50-100gpm
- Pentair Sta-Rite Max-E-Therm heater, model SR400NA, 2" inlet & outlet
- AquaRite salt chlorinating system, 2", T-15 cell
- Zodiac Caretaker 5-port valve and in-floor pop-up cleaning heads
- 2" inlet, 1.5" x5 outlets
- Optimum pressure rating 15-22psi

Notes:
- The pop-up cleaning heads for the in-floor Caretaker system are the normal ones. Apparently the screw in mounts are designed for 2" PVC. But the Caretaker 5 port valve outlets are 1.5". At some point under the pool the 1.5" PVC is sized up to 2". I think it is likely that the pipe was upsized right at the pop-up head mounting.