Anyone "upgraded" their gas meter recently? Did you have to pay?

jfreeman

Mar 5, 2020
Houston, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-45 Plus
I'd especially like to hear from you if you're using Centerpoint in Houston. I am in the exact same situation that @rhawke was in in October 2018: I am a customer of Centerpoint Energy in Houston; I have a 400k BTU Pentair Mastertemp heater; and my gas connection cannot supply it with enough gas. I'm being told I need a "gas meter upgrade".

Countless people online are saying they got this upgrade for free. When I called Centerpoint, they asked for $350. Here's how @rhawke explained it:
Centerpoint called me this morning and I was glad that I had done a bunch of research. Instead of just telling them to upgrade my service, I explained all the equipment that I have and asked if they have to increase the line pressure to 2psi or if they also have larger volume meters at the existing low household pressure (0.25 psi). She then told me that upgrading the meter only for more volume at the current pressure is completely free of charge.

They only charge $350 when they have to change the meter to 2psi pressure and put in regulators further downstream to bring the pressure back to the typical 7" wc (=0.25 psi) the appliances use. Since the line from my meter to the gas heater is only 10ft and the heater is already running with the current meter, they said it will probably be enough to only switch the meter for more volume without increasing the pressure.