Tempe, AZ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting, but I've read many posts!

I am having an issue with my pool balance. We just had some pool work done two weekends ago. A skimmer was replaced, a SWG (updated in my sig) added, and a new VS motor. About half of the pool water has been replaced recently for the work, as well as backwashing too much accidentally. Also, we had about 3 days of rain this last week. Plus, I cleaned out the DE filter.
I have the SWG at 100% during the evening running from 1 am to 6 am daily, with the pump running about 3100 rpm.
I'm not sure how reliable my pool chemicals are, so we are going to replace them soon. They are less than a year old, so they should be good (from posts I have read).

FC: 0 (added a gallon of 10% chlorine two days ago)
TC: 0.5
pH: 7.8
TA: 70
CH: 260 (added 3-4 lbs of increaser 3 days ago)
CYA: 30 (Added a gallon of stabilizer(?) 3 days ago)
Salt: 3582
Borate: 100 (it keeps going up and up. Was at 50 for a long time)

Does anyone have any advice?

Last edited:
Hey Husky and Welcome to posting !!!

As a well read member you just KNOW we are gonna ask how you're testing. 😁

So if those are reliable results, here goes :

Your SWG is 4X your pool volume and needs to run 6 hours at 100% on the average day to produce enough FC. You are currently 1 hour short. Being in AZ and the peak season you may need some more runtime over the 6 hours.

You need liquid FC to be in target range pronto. Like yesterday. See FC/CYA Levels

Perform an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test to see if any algae started while you were at low/no FC

If you fail, SLAM Process
If you pass, or after you pass SLAM, we need to raise the CYA to 70 to start. If that doesn't hold well enough then we go to 80 because Arizona.

Reactions: zraihusky