Gold Supporter
May 15, 2019
Bridgewater, NJ
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
So I have been pretty good with cleaning the bottom of the pool skimming off the leaves at the top and emptying out the skimmers once a day. Water has been clear. Only see little bit algee on the steps and around hooks for volleyball net that's built into gunite pool. I use the floaters in the pool with 3 inch tablets. I don't brush the side walls (didn't know you had to) until yesterday. I started seeing streaks of algae at the bottom of the pool floor. There were patches everywhere. I started pushing it with the brush and push all to the deep end. I even scrub the walls and noticed that it building on on the walls too. Not sure what I am I doing wrong? I know TFP doesn't recommend using the tablets. I am new to pool so i ended up buying large quantity of the tablet from ebay. Now I am trying to utilize it since I can't return it. Should I fill up the floaters all the way to the top with the tablet? Each floater can hold probably like 5 - 6 tablets. Yesterday I scrubbed up most of the pool wall and the floor and added two packets of shock. Left the pump running overnight and this morning. Plan is to run it for 23 hours to clear the alge. Here is the morning picture from my bed room. I still see the green streaks at the bottom. How do I get rid of that and make sure it doesn't come back?108714

J,

It is pretty easy to prevent algae by keeping your CYA and FC in balance per this chart.. FC/CYA Levels... The hard part is getting rid of algae once you get it.. Generally pool store shock, and other magic that they sell, will temporarily knock algae down, but only until it comes back. The key is to kill it all... Once dead, it won't come back as long as you keep your water in balance.

Our process that kills the algae is called a SLAM... It requires the ability to measure FC levels in the 20's and 30's.. This is the main reason that I use the TF-100 test kit..