karaama

Jun 20, 2021
Wewoka Oklahoma
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
So last night I added some algaecide. Now there was no visible algae growing, but I thought it was a good idea to pour some in to help prevent it. I generously poured some in and may of been too generous with the pour. The next day the pool was cloudy. Ive read that adding too much algaecide could cloud up the water but no articles explain how to resolve it. I'm pretty new to pool owning as this is my first pool. It's a 18x48 above ground. I just tested the water chemistry and its fine aswell. I have added algaecide before but it was in a smaller dose. I have not tried shocking the pool yet but I was thinking maybe it would go away with time.

Karaama, welcome to our pool care forum :goodjob:

Can you tell me the brand of Algaecide?

Do you test your pool chemicals routinely? Do you have one of the recommended test kits that contains the FAS-DPD tester for FC and CCs?

I'll let you in to a Pool Store secret- Algaecides are very, very weak algae killers. Almost worthless. Worse yet the cheaper ones contain metals such as copper which no one wants in their pool, eh?

The very best protection against algae is the proper amount of Chlorine, and the amount needs to correspond to how much stabilizer (CYA) you have in the pool water. If you can do that, you never need algaecide, ever.

ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

Recommended Levels

FC/CYA Levels

Some fast reads to help you understand. Holler back with questions :)

Maddie 🐞

Reactions: karaama