Algae and debris

Jul 6, 2020
Ohio
I have a 24’ round above ground pool that I inherited and it was bad upon opening but it’s getting better. There was a ton of debris in the pool and I have gotten probably 80% of it out. What is left just falls apart when trying to scoop it out with a net or vacuum. Even if i brush and agitate it, it settles back to the bottom. How do I get this out? I’m trying to SLAM my pool but this stuff just won’t go away and I feel that if I SLAM it, it’s just for naught because it’s creating algae. I’m new to above ground pools so any help would be great.

Sorry and thanks. I ordered the TF-100 test kit as no stores around here had it. I’m just using a 5-step kit as of right now. My levels
pH is 7.2
Alk 180
FC 5.0
CC 5.0
That’s all I tested at this time due to small testing kit available until new one comes in. I’m trying to keep the chlorine high but with this debris in the pool and not being able to get it out, I’m lost.

Until you know the CYA level, you cannot attack this.
While you are waiting on your test kit, add 5 ppm FC worth of liquid chlorine / plain bleach to your pool each evening with the pump running. This will replenish the FC lost each day to the sun and also inhibit any algae in the water from growing further.

Once you get your TF100, run a full set of tests and post them here.

And while you are adding your 5 FC of chlorine daily and waiting on your test kit, try to vacuum/brush/net/whatever to get the rest of the debris out of the pool. You want the chlorine focused on killing the algae and not having to split duty between killing algae and trying to oxidize leaves and dirt.

Ok so my TF-100 test kit came today. The pool is the clearest it’s been since we opened it. Completely vacuumed out as well. Here’s my results.

FC: 1
CC: 0.5
TC: 1.5
CYA: 0
Ph: 6.8
Calcium: 150
Total Alk: 100

I’m filling it up as we speak as I drained it some to get the rest of the gunk off the bottom.

Great job on the testing!