Advice for Building a Liquid Chlorine System for a 89,000 gallon / 336900 liter Pool

InfoKid

In The Industry
Nov 27, 2017
Texas
The goal is to find a Liquid Chlorine system I can build (DIY), for my pool, but I need your advice since I have never done this before.

My Setup
Pool: 89,000 gallon / 336900 liter
Pump: IntelliFlo VS+SVRS
Dual: HCF236 - Commercial Fiberglass Sand Filter, 36 in
After filter PSI: 100-125

• run the pump 24/7 - 2900-3100rpm's (lower in winter)
  • have (2) 2inch return lines leaving the pump room I can use
  • I have read a lot on the forums and read specs on Stenner chemical pumps
  • would like to use 15 GAL Chlorine drum @ 12.5% (can be delivered easily)
  • summer temp @ 87 f / 31 c
  • outdoor pool, south coast area, not much debris, seagulls & pelicans love to swim/drink from it
Can I use a 85MPHP17 Stenner or do you suggest something else? Will it work if my GPH flow rate is 100-125?
How does the timer part work, since it doesn't come with a timer built in (don't want it built in), what ideas do you have for using a lamp timer that works with iPhone app so I can adjust as needed?

Thank you for any advice :giggle:
corpus-christi-clean-swimming-pools.jpg.jpeg

Last edited:
The key is pressure not flow rate. If your pressure is close to 25 get a pump with 100 psi.

How much clorine you use a day? Get a pump rated for 3-4 times that amount and use a smart outlet on a timer to turn it on and off.

My stenner is huge I only run it 30 mins a day.

The key is pressure not flow rate. If your pressure is close to 25 get a pump with 100 psi.

How much clorine you use a day? Get a pump rated for 3-4 times that amount and use a smart outlet on a timer to turn it on and off.

My stenner is huge I only run it 30 mins a day.

Good info,

The most per day required is 1 gallon / 3.79 liters so a 3 gal per day min pump is what you are saying. Any other thoughts?

Kid,