Access Hatch in Winter Mesh Safey Cover?

geekgranny

LifeTime Supporter
Aug 20, 2009
North Central Texas
If I go with a safety cover this winter, probably not, but if ..... anyone heard of putting a hatch, using super industrial velcro, near the skimmer and big enough to put in and pull out an Aquabot?

My major issue is leaves all winter, tons, as I live in a forest. I normally keep pool "open" all winter, chems adjusted, cleaner running. Our water doesn't get really cold until Januay but the leaves start, en mass, late October. Leaves keep falling and blowing, very high winds, till March. In late March/early April water starts warming up. October through December the leaves are so bad I have to be home when running the pump and cleaner to empty the Pool Skims (2) and skimmer many times a day and clean out leaves from what ever cleaner I use many times a day.

In addition I'll be treating all winter for scale and copper stain so I need the Aquabot to run a lot to scrub plaster surfaces and assist filter in gathering scale dust. 'bot will need to be pulled out twice a day for fine bag change outs.

This may be moot as I'm considering doing a tent with either a big leaf net or lighter weight deer fencing to keep the leaves somewhat under control but I haven't ruled out a mesh safety cover; the tightest mesh. Mesh as I can open and close myself and if the dogs do wander onto it a puncture in mesh would be less of a problem. Besides that we get so much rain in winter I really don't want to be bothering with a cover pump constantly and worrying about the dogs going after it and the discharge hose.

gg=alice

Alice,

A properly installed cover will not be hard to unhook.

Loop Loc has a lockable zipper available. I don't see why they couldn't make the hatch you desire. I think it's a great idea. The number is 800 LOC LOOP. Bear in mind, they sell only through the channel so they will want to give you the name of a dealer.

Scott

PoolGuyNJ said:
Alice,