CC bouncing around - is it me?

wisco

Jun 18, 2015
Newburgh, IN
Hello All,

Pool noob and TFP noob here. Bought the place last Summer so this is my first full season with it. Just switch from puck and pray to TFP about three weeks ago. So far seems to be going quite well. But one thing I'm wondering about is my CC readings. But I guess I'm getting ahead of myself, here are my test results for the last three days.

7/1 7:06pm
PH 7.6
FC 6.2
CC 0.4
TA 90
CH 200
CYA 60 (ish)

7/2 5:48am
PH 7.6
FC 7
CC 0.0
TA 90
CH 200
CYA 60 (ish)

7/3 8:05am
PH 7.7
FC 5.6
CC 0.2
TA 90
CH 200
CYA 60 (ish)

So I'm targeting FC 8 because until I get my R-7065 and calibrate myself, I'm not real confident in my ability to play hide the dot. I'm curious about the CC readings. Is, for example, moving from 6.2 to 8 enough to hit the breakpoint? That's certainly not the only time I've noticed this happening over the last few weeks; is it user error? The CC test I took today (7/3) I think did show the scantest of pink with the R-0003 but not as much as normally one drop of the R-0871 seems to clear up.

So is this reasonable or am I messing something up?

Welcome to TFP :wave:

I would say that your CCs are fine. The test has a 0.2ppm tolerance to it and it is certainly reasonable to see a 0.2ppm fluctuation in CCs based on bather load, leaves, dust, pollen, etc.

Do you have an SWCG? Your CYA is a bit high for a manually chlorinated pool but nothing to worry about. It will come down naturally with dilution/splash out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks, JN

Do you have an SWCG? Your CYA is a bit high for a manually chlorinated pool but nothing to worry about. It will come down naturally with dilution/splash out