New Pool Owner

Jun 22, 2015
Mullica Hill/ NJ
Hello Guys,

I'm new to the pool world and would like some help with the chemistry of my pool. I have a 23,000 gallon pool,DE filter, inline chlorinator, and the water is currently crystal clear. I have been doing a lot of reading on pool store vs BBB and was wondering which direction to go for the below numbers:

Reading from AquaCheck:
CL = 1.0
pH = 6.9
ALK = 40

This weekend we did receive a lot of rain. I have been looking at the pool calculator and was wondering do I raise my pH first with Borax? I appreciate any help with getting my numbers to the right spot.

Thanks again

Hello SNJ! Welcome to TFP. I guess the first thing to confirm is are you going to follow the pool store advice or TFP? Truly, you can't do both. Some things to consider here at TFP:
- The proper test kit (i.e. TF-100 – link below) is the foundation of your pool care. Why this kit? We've learned through personal experience that you cannot reply on pool store testing, test strips, or simple over-the-counter kits. They simply do not read Free Chlorine (FC) or Cyanuric Acid (CYA) levels accurately or to the high levels we need. If you do not have a TF-100 or Taylor K2006 test kit, it should be your #1 priority.

Even if we were to consider those readings above as reliable, they are considerably off to what TFP recommends (see link below). More accurately, we typically look for the following readings to make an accurate assessment: FC, CC, PH, TA, CYA, and CH.

I would encourage your to obtain one of the recommended test kits so you can be sure your readings are spot-on. From there, you can adjust using the Poolmath calculator or post on TFP where forums members will be glad to assist. But seriously, it all starts with the test kit. Also consider reviewing the Pool School and other vital links below. They are some of our most commonly used resources for pool care.