Newbie to This Forum - Not to The Industy

budster

In The Industry
Dec 19, 2008
Savannah Historic District
I'm from the "dark side". By that I mean I'm from the traditional pool care/construction/pool store professional side of the industry. I worked as a pool salesman, pool store retail manager for a two-location dealer, and a manufacturers' rep for 15 years before coming to the distribution side of the industry, where I currently work.

I try to stay open-minded, using the belief that "whatever works best" for your pool, spa, grill, etc., is the right solution. I also strongly believe that even two side-by-side residential pools in two backyards, even with the same equipment, may NOT have the same problems or solutions thereto. My special areas of "expertise" include automation, heaters, heat pumps, pool paints, equipment, and stone.

For the record, I rep'd for Pentair, Jandy, Polaris, Intermatic, Raypak, Quaker Plastics, Fiberstars, Florida Falls, Spillway Spas (Baker Mfg), Ramuc, Olympic Coatings, and a whole host of other, smaller comanies before coming to distribution. My water analysis and troubleshooting skills are probably considered "advanced", but not at the molecular chemistry level. The water chemistry experts on this forum appear to be way ahead of the curve, and I'd yield to them always.

My "favorites" file contains links to about 175 manufacturer's websites and I can reference a good bit of tech information from those, or refer you there as needed. Granted, you will get "their" side of any story, but unless you built your own SCG or filter, it may be of help.

I will be here learning more. :-D

Welcome to TFP!. I have set your rank as "In the Industry" which just helps folks know who they are talking with. We look forward to learning from your expertise!