Manage my chlorine levels during the winter?

May 31, 2008
PA
Can someone educate me on how to manage my chlorine levels during the winter? This is my first year with an IG and I was not here when the pool company closed it. It appears I already need to pump out some extra water due to a rise from lots of rain and early melted snow. I'm looking to understand more on the following:

- how often and how do I check to see if I need to shock
- what to add to shock
- what level is acceptable for the water level (nother post on this recently said that it should remain below the returns with some room to spare)
- best way to get access to the pool for chemicals, pumping

More info:
- 38x24x8' irruglar/coral shaped pool, vinyla liner, w/ steps in shallow end
- loop loc safety cover (allows water to drain through so I need to watch the level

Throughout the year I used my SWG so I never had to add chlorine - just watch the levels - so shock is new to me.

Re: More shocking after winter closing?

If your water temperature is below 50 degrees you don't normally need to add any chlorine at all. If the pool is not covered you might want to add 2 ppm of chlorine once a month, but even that isn't required.

Re: More shocking after winter closing?

Hi y'all :wave:

Here's my take on winter care (it's not always in line with what others suggest, so use your own judgment).