What does SHOCK FC mean in the SLAM proces?

Jun 2, 2015
arizona
Hello,
I'm new to this and already loving this site. I've learned so much in the last few days.

I'm preparing to SLAM my pool; the CYA chart references min FC, target FC, and SHOCK FC. If my CYA is 60, http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/128-chlorine-cya-chart-slam-shock

Does that mean I should put enough bleach (as per the calculator) to bring the FC reading to 24 (shock FC)? Where would I find a test kit that would show me such high reading? The kits I've seen only show readings as high as 5

Or does that mean I should put 24 bags (1lb each) of shock in the pool? (my pool = 10.5K gallons)

If I use the target FC as my guide, for 60 CYA It says the target should be 7. Again, the kits only go up to 5.

are there any recommended FAS-DPD kits that can be recommended without braking the bank?

Thank you very much

You need the TF100. TFTestkits.net

It will test FC up to 50.

If you are going to SLAM then you want to add the XL option.

Remember, a SLAM is not a one time addition of chlorine, but must be held at the shock level for as long as it takes to kill all the bad stuff in the water.

You never really want to to use powder shock for a SLAM and if your CYA is 60, unless you have a salt generator you don't want to use solid forms of chlorine at all.

Hello,
are there any recommended FAS-DPD kits that can be recommended without braking the bank?

These kits seem expensive. But really you are breaking the bank not buying one. The pool store chems will cost way more than the test kit.

Plus how much is your frustration and loss of pool use worth?

The XL option doesn't really add much money by the way, because it adds enough to the total to qualify you for free shipping.

- - - Updated - - -