Need Advice on how to Stabilize Pool

RecTec

Jun 3, 2015
Modesto/CA
Hello!

I am new to TFP and am wanting this year to be a successful SWIMMING :swim:year for my family and I!

I was very excited to get my new test kit this evening (The TF-100, along with LaMotte Borate Strips and a SpeedStir) and it felt like was was getting so much more and better information!

Just so you know, my pool was completely full of algae, so I emptied the pool, cleaned it up, and refilled. Since refilling I have been using my left over Cal-Hypo along with liquid Bleach for chlorine, I have tricolor pucks in to maintain chlorine levels, have added borax (Exactly 74 hours ago with pump running continuously for first 48hrs.), 1 gallon of liquid conditioner and then 2lbs of granular conditioner to raise the CYA (Liquid over 72 hours ago and granular are in a sock and still not fully dissolved).

I do not experience Chlorine loss over the evening; however, I believe due to my CYA levels, I am having to add chlorine every afternoon in addition to what the pucks are putting out.

My current test results are as follows based on the TF-100 Kit:

FC 4.5; CC 0.5; TC 5.0
150 CH
130 TA
7.8 pH
<20 CYA

Borates 30-50 (it was kinda in-between these two markers on the bottle)

I am looking at advice as to getting my pool in good shape for easier maintenance over our coming hot summer.

Thanks in advance for any next steps!

So you are not following the normal trend I see in my limited time here... Resistance to spending the $$ to buy a good test kit and stop going to the pool store.

Why not adapt the TFP ideology all the way? Get rid of those darn pucks! Liquid bleach all the way!

That one little detail is setting you up for failure down the road...