Pentair MasterTemp 250 Heater Natural Gas 460732

bru

Bronze Supporter
Jun 26, 2013
Hello,

Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have a MasterTemp 250 NGas heater that's been giving me some headaches lately. Last year prior to closing it was 'bumping' and rattling. This spring I've replaced the thermal regulator and the manifold bypass valve (thanks to posts on this site). I believe the 'bumping' is gone, however, there still appears to be some rattling. I had the heater on today, but at some point it quit heating but it kept running. I noticed the 'heating' light was flashing. I also noticed the 'AFS' light briefly came on once but did not stay on, nor did I see it a second time.

To me the rattling seems to be coming from the 'combination gas control valve'. There appears to be a switch on the side closest the opening with 2 wires going to it, maybe a breaker of some type, this seems to float back and forth. The part is attached along with red arrow pointing to switch I am speaking about.

Any insight?

Thanks,
Bruce

Attachments

• valve.jpg
    valve.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 44
Yes, you can hear it with all panels on and from a 15ft distance. I suppose it could be something else causing the rattling/clicking. However, it is not as loud by the front access panel as it is at the back panel with both panels removed.

Bruce

I would get a gas person out and have them check to make sure your pressures are right. Not sure why the AFS light would come on unless there is an issue with the blower motor or the air tubes.

Thanks for your feedback Paul!

Is it a typical symptom of the valve to rattle?

Do you think I'm barking up the wrong tree and the rattle I hear is not on the valve but elsewhere?

I should mention the rattle appears after the unit comes up to temp or at some point later - it does not happen at startup.