Need Advice - To close or not to close

Jun 19, 2007
Las Vegas, NV
I have a little dilemma. This is my first year with an AGP, so I have never closed one before. Right now, the water is about 68 degrees, but if I leave the solar cover off it will probably cool down quickly.

Here are my issues:

1) I have not run the filter for about 2 weeks, and had a small amount of green on the walls. I have brushed down the pool, and brought it to shock levels with bleach. Do I need to raise the water level in order to run the pump and filter before cleaning, or will the bleach and my semi effective robo cleaner be enough?

2) The person who set up my pool did a terrible job on the pool floor. They made sure the walls were perfectly level, but they did not put enough dirt inside, did not remove all of the rocks, tried to bury all straps, even in deep end, but not well. In the weeks after the pool was full, I saw more and more wrinkles in the floor, and started to see the outlines of the metal straps across the floors, especially around the buttress free uprights. I also know there are at least some leaks I have not been able to find. The water slowly drains from the pool, I know what end of the pool the issues are in, but it is the deep end, where there are many big wrinkles. I am having trouble finding the leaks to repair them. For the summer, i have just had to fill it a little more often, but for winter I know once I close the pool and cover it, it will just keep slowly leaking until it is empty unless I get into the cold non filtered water and try finding them again.

So, I am looking for an answer to number 1, and then an opinion on number 2. If this were your pool, and the bottom was uneven, bumpy, had leaks, and you could see the straps sticking out, would you let it drain and try redoing the bottom the next season with a new liner? Or is it more trouble than it is worth, and would you suggest I just try and find the holes to patch and leave it as is?