Need Pool Help!!!

May 29, 2015
Beverly, NJ
Hi all!!
I am new to TFP, but any help fellow member could give me would be greatly appreciated. I am unsure of my demensions, but know that I have a 25,000-30,000 gallon above ground pool with a Hayward sand filter (new 2 years ago). The cover collapsed over the winter, leaving it open to the elements for about 7 months. When we began working on the pool it was extremely swamp like!! Blackish/greenish with LOTS of debris on the top as well as the bottom. We tried raking whats on the bottom and got copious amounts of leaves/dirt. We began shocking it with granules.....did 2 algeacide treatments with a product called "swamp treat". The water turned from black to a light greenish color. We kept shocking, raking, and running the filter to where we now have a bluish tinted water, but it appears very milky/cloudy. We took the water to be tested and the pool store results were that we were holding no FC, our phosphates were at 300, and our pH was at 6.4. So, on that note, we added 12lbs of baking soda to bump the pH up.....did 3 phosphorous treatments, flocked and shocked some more. Newest water reading.....still no FC, phosphates are at 100, pH is 7.8 and water is STILL cloudy!! I have a test kit at home that I use also, and my readings NEVER match what the pool store has. We have continued with raking and vacuuming blindly!! Switched to liquid chlorine and have added 4.5 gallons. NOTHING!!!:grrrr: This pool is making me VERY angry!! I am beginning to lose hope! Please Help!!!!!

Welcome to TFP!

The very simple answer to your problem is that you just aren't adding enough chlorine.

4.5 gallons is a drop in the bucket to a dirty pool, and will be used up inside an hour. You need to get the pool to an appropriate shock level, then test again an hour later and add more chlorine. Keep doing that until the chlorine stops dropping. Check out SLAMing Your Pool for details.

Welcome to TFP!!:handwave: