Newbie needs help with the TFPC method

May 29, 2015
Mississauga
Hi.
So I am new to this method. My ex used to take care of the water chemistry but now it's up to me. My pool is a vinyl liner irregular shaped pool. My pool people hooked up my automatic chlorinator which I wNt to disconnect. So I tested my water today and here are my numbers.
CYA 90 ppm. PH is 7.4. FC is 8.5 ppm. TA is 120. I am not sure what the goals for my pool should be and what I sgould be doing with these numbers today.

Please help!

P.S. Pool holds 43500 litres.

Welcome Ziggygal. A couple things that I noticed right away ......
1 - What test kit are you using?
2 - "IF" we were to assume your test numbers are accurate (we never assume at TFP :), a CYA of 90 is very high. Definitely do not use any chlorine products other than liquid bleach.

So much depends on your test though, and what test kit you are using. Your reply will determine the next few responses. Welcome again!

Welcome :wave:

In order to practice the TFPC Method, you're going to need one of the Recommended Test Kits

You are going to have to stop using pool stores and "pool people".

You need to remove and throw away all the chlorine pucks in your inline chlorinator and just go to manually adding bleach to your pool.

You also need to develop a daily and weekly pool care plan because a pool is not something you fiddle with once per week and expect to stay clean and clear.

You need to update your signature with all of your pool details.

As for your current numbers, assuming they are reliable, everything looks ok except your CYA is way too high for a vinyl pool and it is likely greater than 90ppm unless you measured that number yourself. Your CYA should be 30-50ppm with a target FC of 3-5ppm.

Here are the Recommended Ranges

Here is the Chlorine/CYA Chart

If you need to do calculations for chemicals and figure out what to add, use PoolMath