Commercial Pools - Need to Cut Down on Acid Use

Apr 20, 2015
Carterville
I am the Aquatic Coordinator at a collegiate fitness center with two indoor pools and I have worked here for around 6 months. Maintaining proper chemical levels has been easy, but in many ways I am still learning the ins and outs of how these pools truly operate. My signature contains the specs for my pools.

I manually test the chemicals twice a day (Taylor K-2005), but our chlorine and acid are regulated through an automatic feeder Chemtrol machine. The acid is pumped from a 65 gallon tank that is diluted with a 5:1 water-acid ratio. I have recently noticed that we seem to be going through a lot more acid than we have in the past. In the beginning, dropping the tank 7 gallons from one day to the next seemed to be pretty standard. Lately, there have been numerous days where the tank is dropping 15 gallons overnight. The PH has steadily remained between 7.5-7.6 without hardly any change. Alkalinity in both pools is about 90-100. I am having to re-fill this tank twice a week and just feel like I should be using significantly less acid. Any suggestions?

Did you recently boost your Total Alkalinity? The higher your TA, the faster the pH will rise, and the more acid you use.

Sadly, with a commercial pool, you have to follow your state/county guidelines for minimum TA, usually around 80ppm. This level is fine if you are using an acidic form of chlorine like trichlor tabs, but it is a pain in the rear if you are using a relatively-pH-neutral form like liquid chlorine. Just don't raise your TA much above what your local health code requires.

Another thought... Did you recently adjust your control system to maintain a slightly lower pH? The lower your pH, the faster the pH will rise, until it reaches an equilibrium defined mostly by your Total Alkalinity. Perhaps setting the controller to maintain the pH between 7.6 and 7.7, instead of 7.5 to 7.6, would reduce the acid requirements sufficiently?