Was Green - still a little cloudy

May 28, 2010
Let me start with saying I love this forum and the BBB system. I have been doing pretty well for several years AFTER giving up on the pool store and all their chemicals.

I went through about a week at shock level (around 14). The water was very green, and within the first few days it improved a lot. But it hasn't been improving the last 2-3 days and still a little cloudy. Scrubbed the sides, vacuumed a few times, and cleaned filter several times. I let the FC come down to get a good PH reading...Here are my numbers:

Vinyl above ground 7500 Gal pool with cartridge filter

5.5 FC
O CC
7.2 PH
95/100 TA
20 CH
40/45 CYA

Should I go back up to shock level and wait longer for it to clear up or do something else? Any advice would be appreciated.

I agree but also wanted to get a good PH reading. Should I adjust PH before going back to SLAMing? I have an aerator hose that does it pretty quick. Borate is around 15 (based on test strip which is all I have for that measurement.

The pressure is only around 2.5psi, it never really goes very high. Don't think I've ever seen it above 5 but I don't watch it very close because it never seems to change much regardless of a "dirty" filter. I often wondered if that is part of my issue with not getting "crystal" clear? The filter cartridge is 2 years old, I used an old one for the first few days to get most of the junk out then put this one in which seems to be in pretty good condition. At least it looks decent and white. Anything I can do with the filter before going back up to shock level?

I'll have to find the signature section and add the info later...thanks!

Is it possible I have a filter issue since the pressure isn't going up and the filter is running 24/7 and I passed the overnight FC drop test? Or just get the FC back up and keep SLAMing???

You did not pass the part of the SLAM criteria for your water to be clear, so you have not passed the SLAM.