Waiting on Test Kit to arrive. Suggestions Please.

Good morming. I am a newbie to the site and trying to get started with this season. At the end of last pool season before coving our pool I added a rapid shock and a algaecide and later covered the pool for winter.

Monday I uncovered our pool to find the water to be very clear. Thinking that I might be off to a good start I filled pool to level started the system and checked for leaks. I had my water checked with the following results:

FC: 0.7
TC: 0.7
CC: 0
pH: 7.1
TA: 42
CH: 130
CYA: 200
Sat index: -0.7

I was told not to add anything to the pool except partial drain and refill to try to bring the CYA down. Is there anything else that I should be doing? The pool water looks crystal clear. I ordered the K-2006 test kit, but it might not be here till next week. Thanks V

I would recommend adding some bleach as well as partial draining an refilling to reduce CYA. Are these results from the pool store? I am happy to see you ordered a test kit.

- - - Updated - - -

The reason for the bleach recommendation is that your FC is to low and it cannot fight off algae and you could end up not having a clear pool.

+1 on Bleach suggestion. Where are your test results from?

Do you have the simple OTO test kit? If so it will get you by until the real kit comes in.

You can use pool math to get an idea of your total gallons, then dose the pool with bleach accordingly (do this after you do your drain/refill...as you don't want to waste the precious bleach). Hopefully you can get the CYA to a reasonable number before the algae takes over.

First, welcome to TFP!

If you wouldn't mind, could you update your location to include the state? It helps us greatly knowing what region you live in.