Considering a Stenner - Math and Insertion point check

Apr 20, 2015
Mishawaka, IN
I'm still new to this whole pool thing in general, but looking to minimize the amount of work my wife will need to do daily. I'm still trying to convince her on the TFPC method, but she's getting there...

Anyway, I have an opportunity to grab a Stenner 45M5 at an absolute steal. It's adjustable out from 2.5-50 GPD. I think Pool Math and other things I've read here is telling me that in an ideal world, I'd need about 30-45 oz of 12.5% per day to maintain proper levels. At the Stenner's lowest setting, that would only need 2.25 - 3.5 hours of run time per day. I'd like to maintain the pump control mostly independent of chemical injection

Here's the question:How big of a deal is it to have water circulating while injection is happening? I think I'd plumb the Stenner to inject somewhere on the return line with proper backflow preventers and wire it to a standalone timer. I imagine it would have enough pressure to send the chlorine onward to the pool (1x 1.5" at the equipment pad to 2x 1.5" - tee'd underground somewhere) but I'm just unsure how important it is to be mixing such a low concentration as its entering. I suppose the other option would be standalone timer --> relay/contactor --> Stenner where the output of the contactor could close the 3-way switch point on my pump timer.

Thoughts?

Short occasional periods of the Stenner running without the pump are not a problem. But doing that routinely will eventually cause problems. The chlorine concentration will get very high in the pipe, and if that reaches the pool it could cause damage.

One good thing to do is to gate the Stenner power through both the pump timer and it's own timer, assuming the voltage is compatible. If they are different voltages you can do the same thing with a relay. The timers will normally stay in sync and if they get out of sync you won't get any chlorine and will need to put them back in sync.