Amount of CYA

LisaDLu

Nov 14, 2014
Palm Desert, CA
My plaster is a little over a month old. I did a full set of tests today:

PH - over 8 (added 29oz of acid per pool math, having to add acid almost daily).
TA - 80 ppm
CH - 230 ppm
FC - 3.6 ppm
CYA - 30 ppm
Salt - 2900 ppm

** My question is on the CYA. I did the test using a Taylor K-2006 kit. I could still see the black dot at the bottom of the tube at the highest mark (30) but it was a little cloudy. According to pool math I should add 294 oz of liquid stabilizer for a goal of 80 ppm CYA. This seems a lot but I am new to all this. Is there a particular stabilizer/conditioner I should use and should I start it off with maybe 150 oz or so and retest? What problems are there if I add too much stabilizer/conditioner? THANKS

Your CYA level is under 30 if you can still see the dot at 30. Let's say it's 20.
Take your CYA level up in steps. Don't add the full amount to start with. Add enough granular stabilizer to get you to a level of 40. Just assume it's there and adjust your FC with bleach to a target of 6-7 and don't let it fall below 3. Wait for 4-5 days and retest CYA level. It will take a couple of days to fully register on a test. Then add enough stabilizer to take your CYA level to 70.
I'd leave it at 70 for now and in the summer if your losing more than 3 ppm FC to the sun then take it up to 80.
The reason I say to take it up in steps is so you don't over shoot your CYA level. Make sure you put the stabilizer in sock and put the sock in your skimmer basket. Run your pump the whole time until it's all dissolved. Give the sock a squeeze every now and again to help it dissolve faster.
Keep your PH under 8 like your doing. Lower it to 7.5 when you need to lower it. That will also overtime lower your TA. Ideally you want your TA around 60 for your SWG. That level helps with slowing PH rise due to the SWG. Don't sweat your TA. Just giving you a little info on it.

Hi LisaDLu,