Leak After Heating Return Lines

dpcory

Sep 2, 2014
South Bend, IN
This was my first season as a pool owner and I managed to avoid doing any major damage to the pool or equipment until the tail end of the season (I'm in northern Indiana). Looking for some guidance on the best next steps. I'm still learning much of the lingo, so apologies if anything is worded incorrectly or in a confusing way. I can post pictures later when I get home from work.

Two weeks ago, we had the (gas) heater running and I decided to clean the leaves out of the pump basket. I normally shut the heater off but I forgot to do so this time. I let the pressure out of the lines and opened the pump lid. The heater did not shut off when the pressure went out of the lines. After cleaning the basket, I got distracted by my son in the yard before returning to the pump. When I got back to the equipment room, I noticed the flexible PVC line coming out of the heater was extremely hot and I immediately shut the heater off. All told, the heater was running with no pressure in the lines for 2-3 minutes. I let the heater and lines cool down, then turned the pump back on and let the pressure build in the lines.