del ozonator- to use or not to use?

mxfan

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 24, 2008
Shingle Springs, CA
Hello everyone, Newbie here!

I have been getting a lot of info in the last few months from this board and appreciate all the people involved in the community.

I have had green and black algae (in the past) and with the info provided in the forum I have a bit of a handle on it now.

My question is about the ozonater that I have. It is a Del Ozone model (2 years old) and I recently sent it in for service because it stopped producing ozone. The service guy at Del Ozone was very helpful, but when he received the unit for servicing he said that it had been re-plumbed (he sent photos of what mine looked like, and what it was supposed to look like) and said that it probably has never operated correctly the way it was.

I had them service it and re-installed it. The thing bubbles like i've never seen before (the difference is like someone blowing air through a straw-before...and after like someone has a high pressure air hose- lots more bubbles/ozone being generated.

At the time I re-installed it our pool was fairly clear (not perfect) and it made it worse. I read on their website that this was normal and that it would cloud up after a few days...then start filtering out the larger particles.

After a week of still cloudy I disconnected it from the system. It has been about 60 days and I finally have the water crystal clear and the chemical readings are all good right now.

I would like to use the ozonator again...but am a little scared to mess the water up since it looks so good right now?

Would like to hear opinions of the Del Ozonator and determine whether to connect it again, or leave it the way it is since it may not be beneficial to keeping the water clear.

Sorry for the long post.

current test #s
5 ppm fc
5 ppm cc
7.6 ph
110 ta
210 calc. hard.
40 cya

Thanks for your help.
...Eric