Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567
Results 121 to 127 of 127

Thread: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

  1. Back To Top    #121

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    That's chlorine (dichlor) with some sodium bromide so that it will make bromine. That's not much better than getting bromine tabs except it makes bromine faster (i.e. tabs dissolve more slowly), but it doesn't build up bromide that quickly.

    What about going to Walmart and getting Brilliance for spas Start Up? Or what about the startup salt used with Genesis systems (they start with sodium bromide for their bromine generators)? Or Leisure Time Sodium Bromide?
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  2. Back To Top    #122

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
    Posts
    40

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    I'll check at Walmart today. Thank you.
    16' x 48" intex ultra frame above ground pool 5000g
    one speed Filter Pump with 1,500 gallon (5,678 L) per hour flow rate
    340g FreeFlow Solstice Spa, 1.5 hp two speed pump, 50 sq ft. filter

  3. Back To Top    #123

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    ok - really silly question but I want to make sure I am not missing something. I switched to Bromine in the spa. The test strips the dealer recommended measure both bromine and free chlorine. I am at "OK" levels of bromine, but there are only trace amounts if any of Free chlorine. My assumption is that when using bromine you should not expect to see free chlorine and vice versa, but we all know about assumptions

    I also realize I need to get a full test kit and will do so shortly, but in the meantime is it safe to use a spa with good bromine levels and no FC?

  4. Back To Top    #124

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    It looks like the test strips for Free Chlorine don't see bromine, but I bet that any strips for Total Chlorine do. For the drop-based tests, the bromine should show up as Free Chlorine if you were to use a chlorine test.

    You're probably OK, but it's hard to know given the test strips.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  5. Back To Top    #125
    bbrock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Livermore, CA
    Posts
    668

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    Thanks for this great post and the one at pool spa forum entitled Bromine for beginners.

    I have a leftover bottle from the former owner of 10% chlorine. I tried to use the ratio formula to figure out what amount I would need of 10% bleach in my spa but it doesn't work as actually shows I would need more volume. In reality it should be less as it is more concentrated. So I can't use 2 oz. of 6% equals X oz. of 10%. Can anyone shed some light here on how much 10% bleach I would need per hundred gallons?

    Thanks in advance. I learned so much from these 2 forums.

  6. Back To Top    #126

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,717

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    .
    Best I can do on that is to think of the percent of chlorine as units. If you have 1 oz of 6% bleach you have 6 units. 2 oz and you have 12 units. The 10% is 10 units in 1 oz. so 12 units divided by 10 is 1.2 oz
    2oz 6% should be equal to 1.2oz of 10%

    As for how much to use in your spa per hundred gallons, what level are you trying to reach and have you tried using the "Pool Math" calculator to just punch in the 10% value in FC for your spas total gallons ??
    http://www.troublefreepool.com/calc.html
    32K IG Vinyl, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added. <32
    TF-100 test kit http://tftestkits.net/cart.html
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #127

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1

    Re: How do I use Bromine in my spa (or pool)?

    Thank you for this forum. It is helping my understanding of my Hottub, that I recently converted to Bromine.

    Can you please confirm that my understanding is correct:

    Bromide is the reservoir. You add it first.

    Chlorine can be used as an oxidizing agent that converts the Bromide to Bromine, which is the active form. Bromine kills bacteria and other organic compounds.

    Bleach can be used as the Chlorine based oxidizing agent for both shocking and basic Bromide activation.

    Is thins correct?



Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •