Need help finding options to replace my oil pool heater for an indoor pool.

Aug 6, 2014
Long Island, NY
Pool newbie here, looking for some advice.

I have an indoor 60x10x5 20k gal pool that is currently out of commission because the heater, Teledyne Laar xl-2 has developed a severe leak. Problem is that the house is currently only
supplied by heating oil, propane, and electric. Spoke to a few companies about oil fired pool boilers and have come up with maybe only one company that still makes it and maybe not even that one.
Electric heating is out of the question, because of cost. On long island, my house's electric bill in the summer approaches $1k/month. I was also told that solar doesn't make sense because it only raises the temp
by 15 degrees from ambient temperature, which normally is like soil temperature of 40-50 degrees, given the fact that its an indoor pool.

My question, to all the readers out there, is what are my options. I really don't want to fix the old heater since its 20 yrs old, not efficient, and prob will break in the near future. I have heard recommendations of heat pumps installed
on the inside of the pool to both heat the pool and to remove the humidity. Don't know if anyone has done that. We are not avid swimmers but would like to dip in every once in a while. Also having an indoor pool sounds good but don't know
if its feasible to run it in the winter time. We do have a cover on it and its been out of commission for like 10 month already. I was going to try to rig up something to bypass the heater just so my pool doesn't turn into a glob of green water.

Thanks for all the replies.

Ace

Hey Ace, Welcome to TFP.

BY all means isolate any potential oil in-leakage to the pool. A heat pump won't do a lot for you up there I don't think, Perhaps more since it is indoors, but they really aren't great in cold climates...generally speaking.