Explain how to compact crusher in 3" lifts

Jul 16, 2014
Port Neches, TX
They make temporary roads out of the stuff and run heavy machinery on top of it... It's good stuff! Get your frame level and wait for the crusher and get to it. Remember, 3" lifts with a plate compactor. :goodjob:

Sorry, newbie here (and actually haven't even started my project; will have to wait til next summer) just reading as much as I can before break ground. But could someone (Casey?) describe/explain what it means to do 3" lifts when compacting the crusher run... I've 'googled' it but keep getting info on 3" lift kits for trucks and jeeps!

Can't wait to see the progress, keep up the good work lbw1977!

Re: Intex Ultra Frame Inquiry

While awaiting approval from the moderater on my initial question regarding lifts, I finally found an article on the term "lifts" for compacting material! Now my question is this: should the crusher run be compacted wet or dry, or does it matter? Thanks!

Crusher run compacts best when damp.

As you have found out (sorry I was unavailable when you asked), 3" lifts means you lay 3" of material, compact that, then repeat as needed to get to your finished height. If you want it really compacted, you do 1" lifts and run over it with a sheep's foot compactor. You can get 99% compaction that way. The smaller lifts allow for better compaction, but for your purposes, the 3" will do well enough.

Intex Ultra Frame Inquiry

Go with 3" inch lifts at the min. No more than 4". One inch lifts is a waste of time. You won't get any better compaction with one inch lifts. The reason being is when you compact the first one inch and then put on another one inch, that lift will disturb the lift under it. Go with the 3 inch.
Are you using a plate compactor ? How much total do you have to raise this area ?