Copper introduced by PT lumber sawdust?

Jul 9, 2014
Rochester, NY
I'm a newbie, so please let me know if another forum would be more appropriate for this question.

My AGP was installed less than 2 weeks ago. Construction of my pool deck began immediately afterward. The deck will cover the top rails; this design has resulted in a fair amount of sawdust in the pool. The solar cover has helped me keep some of it out, but I've vacuumed several times and mostly what I'm cleaning up is sawdust.

The deck frame is pressure-treated lumber. I don't know the exact treatment, but I believe most PT lumber is treated with copper compounds. I believe I've read here that high copper levels can cause staining. Does anyone know if sawdust will raise copper levels, and could it raise them enough to put me at risk for staining?

Should I vacuum to waste until the deck construction is done? I haven't thus far, so the sawdust has sat in my filter for days at a time. I backwashed the filter last weekend, but I've been generally avoiding backwashing because I'm trying to raise CYA (added 1/2 of my target dose after filling the pool, waited a week, backwashed, then added the other 1/2 of the dose).

Any thoughts on how serious a problem the sawdust is, and suggestions to handle it differently than I have been will be most appreciated.

Thanks!

Unless you added the CYA directly to the skimmer, you shouldn't need to worry about backwashing. If you added your CYA to a sock over a return or in a sock or T-shirt in the skimmer, then it should be dissolved in the water rather than caught in the filter.

Copper does leach out of pressure treated wood (even the "new" non-CCA stuff)

I can't tell you how much, or how it will effect your pool. Keeping your water balanced (pH, TA, etc all are recommended levels) will help to mitigate staining. If you really are that worried, you can add a sequestering agent just to be sure.