drain backing up...

Jul 5, 2014
murrieta ca
Apologies in advance! I am a new home and pool owner so I am still learning correct terminology! There are small drains around the pool area. I assume to collect splash water? 1 of these drains is located in a dirt area just down a short slope from the pool equipment. Every time the pump turns on water flows up out of this drain flooding the area with mud. My husband wants to force a hose down the drain and flush it with water but I am afraid it will push the mud clog back into the pool or worse, back into the pump! How can I clear this drain and stop the flooding? As soon as we get the drain unplugged, we plan on Removing as much of the dirt as possible and pouring concrete in this area so it won't clog with mud again!

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Turning on the pool pump should have no effect on a drainage drain ... they would not be connected.

I am wondering if maybe you have a sand or DE filter and they have plumbed the waste port (used for backwashing) to that "drain" for a place to pump the water to. It could be that your backwash valve is leaking and thus making the water go there all the time? Although this would be partially draining the pool whenever the pump was on.

Can you post pictures of your equipment and plumbing setup and this drain?

That makes no sense. The patio drains are for splashout and rainwater. Whether or not the pump is on should make no difference. I agree with Jason. ^^ It sounds like the waste port is plumbed to the drain and leaks. Are you losing a lot of water? It's probably not all evaporation.

IMG_2437_zps05da0a83.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
IMG_2441_zps2b2580b9.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
IMG_2440_zps889f4e26.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
IMG_2442_zps48f3a1ad.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
IMG_2439_zps35605b86.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]