Is there something wrong with my skimmer?

neutral0

Silver Supporter
Jun 22, 2014
Stamford, CT.
I am new to the pool world, having bought a house with a pool that may have been built in the 1940s. I am trying to untangle what is working and what is not.

My skimmer has a top that says Hayward 1082,1084,1085. The skimmer has two holes at the bottom, one which seems to lead back to a hole in the pool that is a few feet below the skimmer and the other to the pump, which is located down a hill and about 20 feet away from the pool.

If I reach down to the bottom of the skimmer, where the line joins the skimmer, the suction from the pump is really strong. (There is no suction at the other hole which i assume is some sort of safety line for the pump.) However, there is very mediocre suction at the level of the basket. There is no cover over the two holes, only the basket.

I need to run my pump 24-7 to keep the pool clean. I have repaired a few cracks in the skimmer and this helped a little.

Any ideas as to why the suction is so poor at the basket level? Am I missing a piece to my skimmer maybe? Or are there gaskets that I should replace? I'd appreciate any help you can give me.

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Sounds like you have an equalizer line plumbed into the pool. But are missing the float diverter that is needed for the safety function to work. The idea is that is the pool level drops below the skimmer, the float diverter would close and the pump would still be able to pull water from the equalizer line and not damage the pump. It is not required, but a nice back-up.

I do not see anything that says the skimmer is not working like it should. Do you have a weir door on the skimmer? That helps the skimmer to work more effectively and prevents the junk from floating out when the pump turns off.