Should I upgrade my pump?

Cherie

LifeTime Supporter
Jul 23, 2008
Wylie, Texas
Hi. I'm new to all this pool stuff AND posting stuff. So please bear with me until I catch on! :wave: I'm Cherie and we live in Wylie, Texas.

First of all, THANK YOU so much for caring enough to offer the invaluable help on this site. You have already saved us a lot of money (which is one way we were able to contribute to your cause here :handshake:

In May 2008, we had the following installed, buried 3 feet into the ground, with a 7' deep end (and a 2 1/2' ledge around the deep end): Doughboy, 32x16 with one skimmer/one return inlet, 25 mil print liner, 19" sand filter (with zeobest). My calculations can only come in a ballpark for #gallons, because of the deep end ledge, but w/o the ledge figured, it would be 21,120 gallons. So I've been maintaining it as a 20,000 gallon pool and it seems to be working fine (except that we are still battling the mustard algae that was introduced through some neighbor kids' lakewater swimsuits!!) That's another story and a battle I will take on again next week -- now that I know all the CORRECT STEPS for beating it! :)

I have already initiated the BBB method, much to the worry of my husband (I chuckle as I type this) and the chagrin of our pool store! It's great, although I still have some learning to do.