It's been a long battle with algae

Jack Strap

Silver Supporter
Bronze Supporter
Jun 21, 2014
Allentown, NJ
I'm new to this form and just completed my first round of tests with the new test kit. Here are the results;
FC 2
CC .2
Ph 7
TA 200 ( has been this high all year so far)
CH15
CYA I put about 1/2' of water in the measuring tube and the dot disappeared?! To low for reading?

Water temp about 87.

Here is the quick back story; I put the pool in five years ago and had no trouble for 5 years, i have had some serious medical issues and last year I did not keep it up correctly. Last August got what I believe was a case of pink mold, went to the pool store a bunch of times, added a bunch of chemicals as they advised and couldn't seem to completely beat it, closed the pool a week early, changed out the sand in the filter this year before the season started.

Developed what appears to be a case of mustard algae, white looking powdery substance, not slimy and not sand, when you touch it turns into a cloud. Every time I spotted it, vacuum to waste and added chemicals, brushed as per pool store instructions. Cleaned and shocked the pool, ran the filter on recirculate for a few days and it grew back indicating that it's something organic (I think). Every time I see it I vacuum to waste and I have been doing a lot of shocking, I don't know what I'm doing and it appears the pools store folks don't either, since I have not been able to beat it, ready for a new era the trouble free pool way, read up on mustard algae, seems like I need to follow the instructions for 5 days of SLAM then one extra day of super slam, I'm just not sure if I need to do anything else first like correct the TA or CYA, any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!

Welcome to TFP!

Your CYA level is very very high. I recommend replacing water to get the CYA level down to around 60. Fighting algae when CYA is really high is extremely difficult.