Evening from Texas. Need Some Help

Tx_Cat

Apr 8, 2011
EPT
Hi yall,

Hope yall doing good. I have been pondering for a few years in getting a pool at my house. Called in a few pool builders, and all of them were in the neighborhood of $30k+ for a simple rectangular pool. So I said, screw it. I consider myself a knowledgeable and google is my my friend.

So, this is the deal: there is no way I am spending $30k on a pool, why? Well because I do not have that amount of money for a pool. But lets be realistic, the pool I want I can build it under $10k and using good products. So my design is simple, a rectangular pool with half a moon as the entrance with stairs. Oh forgot to mention, it will be an indoor pool. With hour crazy weather and living in desert, pool would be dirty all the time. I did some calculations and I have narrow it down to 3 options:

Depth for all 3 pools:
*Min Depth = 5ft
*Max Depth = 6.5ft
*Average depth of 5.75

1. Small Pool 14x28
*16905 gallons in total
*23.479GPM

2. Medium Pool 15x30
*19406 gallons in total
*26.95GPM

3. Big Pool 16x32
*22080 gallons in total
*30.6GPM

My question, what type of piping should I use? I been researching and many people recommend 2" piping with a 1HP pump. Will that be suffice to move all the water? Also, what brand of pump, filter, heater (gas and solar), chlorinator should I consider? PVC schedule 40 pipe? It would be a plastered pool, what type of material can I use at the bottom? I also want LED in the pool. How many skimmers should I use? How many returns and what size?

I am planning on getting the subcontractors, individually, to complete each phase of the pool construction. There aren't that many PB around my area, hence why it is very expensive (or at least I think it is expensive)..

Sorry for the scattered questions..

Thanks for your help.

-I

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

You are undertaking a big task ... but it is doable.
I am not sure why you are listing flow rates by each pool size?