cya too high

mlkh

Jul 5, 2008
Burleson, TX
I am new to the BBB method but can not seem to get my FC high enough to keep algae down. My CYA is 100 and I flocked about a week ago and vacuumed to waste approx. 6in down then did a refill. It did not lower the CYA. I continue to pour bleach in at high levels but it is not helping. I am spending $30/week on bleach so I am looking for some help. Is draining half my pool the only answer...I have an inground liner pool with 36,000 gals. That is a lot of water! Thanks for your help!
Martha

Welcome to TFP!

Unfortunately, the only way to lower the CYA is by draining and refilling. You will need to replace 50% of your water, however, do not do it all at one time. You run the risk of floating the pool and/or getting wrinkles in you liner. Continue to do partial drains and refills until you get the level down to at least 50.

Do you have a testing kit that has the FAS/DPD CL test and a CYA test? If not, you need to get one. I suggest a TF Test Kit sold at tftestkits.com or a Taylor K-2006. If your CYA is really 100, your target level for CL is 14. There are no other tests that will be able to test for that high a CL level. To reach that target for a 36,000 pool, you would need to use about 8 gallons of 6% bleach if you started with a FC reading of 0.

Do you know what your CL is now?

Frequently when your CYA test comes out at 100 the actual results are much higher. That would explain why when you replaced some water your CYA didn't change. I concur with the prior advice; partial drains and refills to lower to the 50ish range, don't do it all at once.