New pool owner test results

May 29, 2014
New Jersey
Hi guys,

Novice here, went to Leslie's after filling up. Below are the results and what I've done so far.

FAC - 0.5
TAC - 0.5
Salt - 200
CH - 90
CYA - 0
TA - 50
pH - 73
Copper - 0
Iron - 0
Phosphates - 600

I just received the Intex SWG, haven't installed it yet.

I added Leslie's 10lb alkalinity up, need to retest in 4hrs or so. The Leslie's associate is advising me to shock after 4 hrs to bring the chlorine level up.

Any suggestions as what to do next and what to use would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to TFP !
An even better step would be getting yourself one of these Test Kits. I use the TF-100 along with many other people. It's the right tool for getting accurate, consistent test results. It's very hard for us to give good solid advice without accurate test results. The pool store isn't up to par with there water testing for us to give good advice on those results. They want to sell you chem's.
Here are some good articles from Pool School to take a look at.
How To Chlorinate Your Pool
ABC'S Of Pool Water Chemistry
Any questions don't hesitate to ask ! ?

Welcome! :wave:

Hey, you didn't do so bad... you got out of the pool store with only some overpriced baking soda! You got off cheap.

And surprisingly, the advice was right, pretty much, if the test results are to be believed. I would have added the bleach first, and the baking soda half an hour later. You don't need to wait four hours. Taking it to shock is overkill, since the water just came out of the tap.