Shoddy Install work on new pump? (pic)

bboehm

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 7, 2007
Cary, IL
I'm no expert, and certainly a far cry from a licensed electrician, but take a look at this and let me know if this is bad workmanship or not.
Installed here is a new Sta-Rite 4spd VS3050 pump and Easy Touch control system (electronic control system for Jandy valve to swim-out jets, heater, pool slide etc)
Considering the cost of this new system (approx $2000 including labor), I wouldn't think that there would be loose wires all over the place.
Shouldn't these wires be ran through conduit or some kind of protective tubing like the other stuff?
Interested in feedback and opinions. Thanks!

2648213118_201c49e6e8.jpg

Update:
Like I said, I'm no electrician 8) and I believe I have probably mis-labeled those wires in my pic. I believe that the loose wires are low voltage control wires and not power lines so probably not a huge concern in terms of power running through the lines but nevertheless, still seems to me those wires should be protected in some way...

Well, thanks a lot Bill! :lol: I also have all these wires hanging around. I didn't think anything about it and thought it was *supposed* to be that way until you bring this up. :hammer: I don't know a thing either and will be watching the answers from the experts. If I were a bettin' woman, I'd vote shoddy install (at least on my end anyway). :roll:

Karen

Well I will give you my opinion, 24 volt and below do not have to be in conduit (flex etc.). Now having said that, I have not and would not leave wire open like that. It is just the way I do things but I like all my work to look professional. And to me this kind of work does not look that way. A lot of people now days are looking for the fastest and cheapest way to do things, so they can make an extra buck.