Jandy LXi Heater: Fault High Limit error

Apr 20, 2014
Houston
Hello everyone, I am fairly new to pool care (had for just over a year). This week when trying our Lxi heater out (it is about a year old) I got a fault message of "High Limit" and the burners did not fire.

I have done some research and believe I know where the limit switch is located, how to test it, and how to replace. However I wanted to confirm with everyone before doing so.

As for the location I can see where the high limit runs behind the PIB to the outside of the heater, just want to confirm these are the only 2 I need to replace. I ordered a replacement R0023000 150deg high limit switch and a R0457200 130deg high limit switch to replace the 2 in the picture below.

IMG_2303.jpg

I pull the the limit switch out today and it was fairly corroded. I tried to clean it and put back but it is still throwing the error. I can hear water running through the pipes, so I assume it isn't a flow issue.

Anything else I should check or do? The plan right now is to just replace the 2 high limit switches and see if it fires up.

I am getting the high limit error on my Jandy LXi heater. I bought the replacement harness with switches for the Jandy Lxi. My thought was to shut off power to my heater and pump filter and then replace the harness. It seems that the front panel comes off with the turn of a screwdriver and the harness just feeds in from the side. I couldn't find any specific instructions. Is there anything special to be aware of or to do?

Thanks--

Al

You should be able to unscrew the limits and then pop them off the socket and screw them back in. Unless of course if the harness wire is totally shot then I guess you would want to replace the entire thing.