Changing light - cannot pull wire out

Nov 23, 2007
I want to change out my two pool lights and spa, and cannot pull the wire out. I used to be an electrician, so I know about pulling wires, but have a couple questions.

1) I've seen a lot of posts about having a short run from the light to a j-box. I don't have a junction box, but rather a direct run all the way from lights to the panel, about 100 feet. I'm just curious about the builder of the pool. Is it normal to run directly back to the panel, or is it "more correct" to have a short run to a j-box to facilitate changing lights down the road?

2) I was trying to pull the light conductors out without pulling the bonding wire out. I'm betting those are twisted together as they were probably pulled in together. Maybe that was my problem and if I pull the bonding wire out at the same time, I'll get it out.

3) If I remove the bonding wire, it looks like it should be attached at the niche with a screw lug. It's currently covered with silicone. I have a salt pool. If I replace the bonding wire, should I lower the water and put silicone around the lug again, or do I not have to worry about corrosion?

BTW - I'm trying to change out my Pentair SAM lights with Intellibrites.

Thanks for any advice,

Robert

When I changed mine, I used a product made by 3M to lube up the old wire in the conduit before pulling. Dry, I couldn't move it 6 inches, after squirting some of the 3M product into the line and adding some water to help carry down to the end, it pulled fairly easily. I cut the light itself off the end and attached the new wire to it so it would be pulled in as the old was pulled out. Also added some of the 3M lube to the new wire as it entered the niche. In my case the wire ran to a j-box and then on to the panel. I think that's code, but not sure.
Also, my bonding wire was attached to the niche and was not disturbed during light replacement. The light itself had 3 wires, black white and green in one thick jacket.