Need to renovate equipment - Advice Please!

Max58

Oct 6, 2013
New pool owner and need advice.

Moved into new house last October and had a local service company open pool today. Filter leaks at band and fittings and the pump motor is rusted due to leaks at plumbing joints. System works, but leaking and on last leg. Estimate age of equipment at 15-20 yrs old.

Specs: 31,000 gal Sylvan pool, DE Filter, Hayward 1.5 Hp pump.

House is located in Maryland. Looking for advice on new filter (DE vs Cartridge), advantages of two speed or variable speed pump vs single speed - (Elec. $.10 kWh). I also want to convert to salt water system. It has a pump for a Polaris, but wondering if a robotic pool cleaner is worth it.

As as I am new to the pool thing, not sure where to start or if what I have planned is overkill.

Any advice on what I am planning would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

The filter type is personal preference: http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/160-pool-filter-comparison

For the filter the bigger the better. General minimum sizes for a pool that big would be a 72sqft DE (maybe bigger) or a 450sqft cartridge ... bigger cartridges are easier to find, I might lean to the cartridge so you are not backwash all your salt out, etc.

Do you have any high water flow needs? water features, spa, etc? If not, then a 1 to 1.5 HP 2-speed pump is what I would recommend. Your electric costs are not high enough to warrant a VS pump.

I would also move away from the boosted cleaner. Robots are the future ;)

For the SWG, we recommend sizing the cell fro 2-3 times the size of your pool ... that is going to put you looking for a 60+k cell and there are not too many manufactures with them that big. Or you could run 2 of the smaller SWGs, but not sure the is more cost effective.

Likely in the short term you could get most of those leaks stopped by checking the lubing the seals on the filter and maybe just redoing the connections to the pump.