Newbie here, please help. My wife is ready to swim.

Jun 24, 2008
MOBILE, AL
Hello to all. I am a newbie here and have a few questions maybe yall can help me with(yes I said yall, i am from the south LOL) :lol: Anyways I have a AG 24' round pool that is 13,600 GAL. I am testing with the TF-100 and I have used the pool calculator and dont understand is the Goal when you first bring the website up is that what I need mine to be at or do I need to plug in some numbers there?
Here is what my levels are now.
FC-5
CC-0
TC-5
PH-7.2
T/A-170
CH-N/A
CYA- I filled the beaker to the top and could still see the black dot so I would say about 10.

We just got this pool installed two Fridays ago and I am already frustrated. The first thing spa and tub MFG had me do was add 22LBS of baking soda to bring the TA up and set my Pool frog system to 4. Then a few days after that before I got my test kit I ripped the liner with the fountain attachment for the aqualuminator so I had to drain some of the water patch it and know here I am totally clueless. I shouldnt have paid for the frog system and just used the BBB method which I didnt know about untill finding this wonderful website. Anyways I will quit rambling for now. Thanks in advance for all of your help.

Jeremy

PS. I also have a 1.5 hp pump motor and the ysaid I need to let it run for about 14hrs aday is this right.

Hey Jeremy,

Welcome to TFP! To use the pool calculator, you put in the numbers you have now in the NOW column, and then what you want your numbers to be in the GOAL column. For example, your CYA is around 10 now, so you would enter "10" in the NOW field, and enter "40" in the GOAL field, and then click on "Calculate" at the top. The numbers should change in the field to the right of the parameter you changed (in this case, CYA), to tell you how much CYA you should add. Don't forget, you also have to enter the size of your pool at the top, too!