Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Public Pools Scare Me

1. Back To Top    #1

Public Pools Scare Me

Hey everyone,
    I was on vacation, then got hammered when I got back to work (should be working right now but had to get away for a second), but I've been wanting to post this since I got back...Sean or Jason, please move this if you want, I couldn't figure out where to put it.
    I went to the beach, a very very popular East Coast place, and saw the pool guy at our condo testing the water...so I started chit-chatting with him...he was a nice guy, but turns out he was the head of maintenance at this condo (big place w/lazy river, etc.)
    He seemed to have a handle on some chemistry, but relied heavily on his Taylor booklet and didn't seem to know some of the basic things I've picked up on here, and I'm no expert by any means. He told me he always passes the state inspections that they do for public pools, but alot of places in that area get shut down/suspended because they don't know what they're doing - WOW - and then I remembered the hotel pool in my hometown where a kid almost drowned last summer because they couldn't see the bottom OF AN 8' POOL to help him out
    By the way, he says that the state (where this condo is located) is moving the requirements from 6 to 10 (if I heard him right, I'm assuming 10 ppm CL?) for next season...that seems scary to me.
    Anyway, it made me appreciate this forum even more than I already do, and I did give him the address here, in case he wanted to get some more learnin' (as we say in VA)...nice guy with a good attitude, so I hope he checks us out.
    Anyway, public pools scare me even more now, so I'm going home tonight and kiss my water.
    Todd
    --------------
    Pool: 16x36, 16,800 gal., vinyl, sand filter, SWG & AquaCal Heat Pump
    Spa: Hot Springs Sovereign, 355 gal., ozone/ion
    The most helpful tool you'll ever have for your pool:
    http://www.poolcalculator.com/