Sta-Rite Sr400Hd Max-E-Therm Codes Ad0, Sf1, 888, 180, R4

Oct 6, 2013
Good Day To Everyone,

I am new to the pool ownership family and as such, I will apologize ahead of time for any mistakes and/or omissions i make ...I am grateful to all for any help you can provide me with...

I have a 10+ yrs Sta-Rite Max-E-Therm SR400HD pool and spa natural gas heater. I purchased the home last year in June and at the time the heater worked with no issues. I did not run it during the past winter at all. I am now trying to get it going now but it won't run or start up nor make any noises whatsoever.

When i turn it on the following happens: code Ad0, then Sf1, then all the lights on the panel flash, then 888, 180, and lastly r4 before the panel shuts off. Can someone explain what these codes mean? Or what could possibly be wrong?

It is currently beyond my capability to just replace it so that's why I am trying to figure out if i can repair and/or replace anything that might be wrong. I have looked in the owners manual and none of these codes are there. I have also searched online for a service/repair manual and can't find one anywhere :( :(

Pool is about 10,500 gallons, in ground, plaster, water is flowing into the heater, no water is leaking out of the heater or the filtration system.

Re: Sta-Rite Sr400Hd Max-E-Therm Codes Ad0, Sf1, 888, 180, R

The "codes" are just a normal boot sequence it is displaying. Do you have any automation on this pool?

Automation in what sense? It is on a timer as to when the pool filters come on, but other than that nothing else that I can think of....i shut off the gas to the heater just i cases of something being wrong due to these codes...

Automation is usually a remote or some sort that you push buttons on it to activate things. So you only have a pool, no spa or anything fancy?

No remote controls or fancy set up....I have a spa attached to the pool...everything else seems to be working and I do have water going into the heater.