Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How to test TC in my basic OTO test kit?

1. Back To Top    #1

How to test TC in my basic OTO test kit?

Okay, I'm still new to all this testing but I'm wondering how to check the chlorine levels in my water with the Leslie's basic OTO test kit. When I put the 5 drops in, cap it, and then shake it, my chlorine reads .5 ppm and then like 20 seconds later it reads around the 1-2 ppm color. Which reading is correct, the immediate one after shaking or a few seconds later? I know how to check it with the FAS -DPD test kit, but want to use the basic kit for quick checks. Thanks so much.
    27K IG Vinyl Pool
    1 HP Hayward pump
    Hayward sand filter/ 3720 GPH
    Taylor K-2005 & K1515A test kits

2. Back To Top    #2

I was told by the Pool Store, that the first reading is the FC and the second in the TC.

Not sure if that is correct.
    15,500 gal, inground gunite pool with 7 ft spa, 2 speed pump 2hp/.33hp, 3/4 hp booster pump, Intermatic P1353 timer, AutoPilot SC-48, Sand filter with ZeoBest, Heater, that I never use . . .

3. Back To Top    #3
    Do you shake it hard? if so, the bubbles can cause a lighter color to be perceived at first, and then as they dissipate, the color would be darker. Instead of shaking, you should gently invert the vial several times.

OTO tests, to my knowledge, only measure TC.

8000 gallon 20' x 48" round vinyl frame pool, 12" sand filter (don't have the specs on the pump), TF100 test kit
    Handy Links: PoolMath, TF-100 Test Kit, Pool School, CYA-Chlorine Chart
    "Shock" is a process, not a product!

4. Back To Top    #4
    The second color is correct. Give it a moment to "develop", several seconds, before reading. Gentle mixing, a slow inversion, is all that is needed.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot